GEORGIA PLANNING ASSOCIATION ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING MINUTES Wednesday, October 2, 2019 6:00 p.m. Athens, Georgia

WELCOME & RECOGNITION

President Jim Summerbell called the meeting to order at 6:02 p.m., stated that a quorum had been established. He thanked everyone for attending GPA's Fall Conference opening reception and annual membership meeting.

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Minutes of the September 6, 2018, membership meeting in Jekyll Island, GA were available to the attendees. A motion was made and seconded to approve the minutes as written. Motion carried unanimously.

TREASURER'S REPORT

Sidney Douse, Treasurer, discussed the financial position of the Chapter. He provided copies of the budget and highlighted major revenues and expenditures. Douse mentioned that the Chapter had a successful Spring conference and over goal on budget.

PRESIDENT'S MESSAGE

President Summerbell thanked the Annual and Conference Sponsors naming each one. He recognized VP of Programs, Allison Stewart-Harris, and the Local Host Committee. Jim reflected on the volunteer experience and time with GPA. Jim emphasized that each Committee is looking for more member participation.

ELECTIONS & SERVICE AWARDS

President-Elect Studdard recapped the election results with new members starting their terms January 1, 2020. Most were renewing their Board seats. President-Elect Studdard presented Service Awards to the outgoing Board members for their service to the Chapter - Jim Summerbell, President; Kristen Stewart-Harris, VP Programs; Andrea Foard, AICP Director-at-Large; Jeff Radar, Planning Official.

CHAPTER COMMITTEE PARTICIPATION

President-Elect Studdard introduced the Committee Chairs to the podium and gave a brief description of each Committee for members to sign up on the lists at the table by the door. Chapter Services – Kristen Wescott; Finance – Sidney Douse; Diversity – Marilyn Hall; Emerging Planners Group – Stan Reecy; Policy & Advocacy – Jim Summerbell; Professional Development – Ariel Godwin; Mentoring- Whitney Shephard; Programs – Andrea Foard.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:34 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Laura F. Beall, AICP Secretary